Mining my own business

Well, this is the 2nd or 3rd time I have written this post… once I deleted it and once my browser had a dicky-fit and lost it… :S

I’ve been spending a bit of time mining recently, although I took some time out to run some missions to get some salvage together fir rig building. I like to build my own rigs as it reduces the cost of putting a new ship together.  Mission running I tend to cheat a little, and do level 3 missions in a marauder… I really ought to do level 4’s but I like to have some backup ships incase it all goes pear-shaped! But when I’m running a light fleet I just use a Kronos and a second account in a Noctis. Its easy, safe and quite boring…. hence why I don’t do it for long! I failed to acquire any Tritanium bars, so I need to remember where I used to mission where I had loads of them!

I’m currently sitting on enough highsec minerals (tritanium, Pyerite, Nocxium, Mexallon, Isogen) to build a rorqual, and to date I nearly have enough to build another! Just another 15 mill Pyerite needed and I may look at a new project. I started working towards doing 4 carriers (again) but decided it was too mammoth a task to hit in 1 go. But if I keep this collecting up its going to be feasable.

This would have to be after I rebuild the carrier for my alt…. Yeah I built 1 out of spares I had kicking around… and promptly sold it for above market value *lol*

Spare parts? Well, every time I complete a cap ship I complete the bpc’s from the pack so inevitably end up with extra components with every build.

I’ve not long ago completed a Rorqual for a buddy which I sold him under the market price. The alliance he was in broke up mid purchase, and although he paid for it I found out he was struggling to cover his plexes and he mentioned to me that the rorqual wasnt selling. I bought it back from him at the same price he paid, and now I have it up for sale. So although I may nearly have the minerals to build another. I’m not sure I would build one at the moment!

Skills-wise, I’ve hit a deadend with some of my chars. One alt is becoming an orca pilot (ability is there, just the leadership to get half decent). My main is doing some old skills (completed Armor reinforcement 5 on all flavours, but looking at shields next. 1st Alt is beefing up her capital ship skills. I’m back in charge of my Wifes account but I don’t have a clue which direction would be helpful for her to go in! I might look at her defensive skills, before looking at her PVP skills – just incase!

Don’t fly straight!!

2 Responses to “Mining my own business”

  1. Does this mean that they are no longer ganking miners?
    I do level 4’s with a Raven and 2 Drakes, which works well. 🙂
    Is the wife still playing, or are you using her account?

    Dirk

    • I sometimes use my Kronos and keep a logi outside the area, just incase. Otherwise the backup ship is usually the damnation which takes care of the local frigates that might be scramming. Hopefully once all my comp skills hit 5 (just started on shields) I’ll feel a little more secure!

      As for ganking miners… I’ve not heard or seen of any ganks for a long time, so who knows!

      I am controlling Aeryns account and covering the plexes, but she still holds ownership. I just have the freedom to use her to mine, and keep her skilling up! She doesn’t know what to train towards so I just keep bumping up the skills. I’m trying not to buy any new skills on her account, unless they will improve something already trained, as Aeryn is a big fan of getting all skills trained to level 5, no matter how long it takes!

Leave a Reply

